Do I need a doctor’s referral?
Maine is a direct access state, so you do not need a doctor’s order for Physical Therapy. However, some insurances require a referral for reimbursement, so you might want to check with your insurer. Medicare does not require a referral for your initial visit, but you must have a physician sign off on your care plan after our initial visit (I will send that over to them). If feasible, it is always a good idea to communicate with the primary health care provider to let them know that you are pursuing Physical Therapy and with whom – while you are at it, you might as well ask them to FAX a referral to us.
Fax Referrals to 207-517-6259. Attn: Katey Hawes, Even Keel Therapeutic Movement
What if my doctor suggests another Physical Therapist?
Who and where you choose to see for Physical Therapy is your choice, not your doctor. Your referral is simply for Physical Therapy – it will work with any Licensed Physical Therapist in the state of Maine.
What should I bring to my 1st appointment?
When you come in for your 1st appointment, please bring any insurance cards, a list of your medications, including dosages and how often you take them, and any paperwork your doctor may have given you regarding your current challenge. A copy is always appreciated if you have a written medical history. Wear comfortable clothing that keeps your modesty intact and allows you to move easily.
How long will my appointment be?
Physical Therapy appointments at Even Keel are typically 45-60 minutes long. I try to keep your visit frequency as low as possible as I understand that fitting appointments into your schedule can be challenging, and getting to and from appointments can be time-consuming.
What if I need to reschedule or cancel an appointment? We ask for a 24-hours-notice if you need to reschedule or cancel an appointment. We realize that sometimes the unexpected happens, so if you reschedule or cancel late with less than 24-hours-notice, you will not be charged. However, if you reschedule / cancel with less than 24-hours-notice more than once, we may charge you up to $60 before you are allowed to schedule another visit. This policy is not a punishment but simply necessary for our bottom line if we cannot schedule someone else in your time slot. If inclement weather or illness precludes your ability to attend your appointment, we will not charge you the late cancellation fee.
Do you take my insurance? I am an in-provider network with Medicare and many of the Medicare Advantage plans. Otherwise, I am out of network with non-medicare insurance.
If you have Medicare or a Medicare Advantage plan, I will submit your claims for reimbursement. You will only be responsible for your deductible, co-insurance, or co-pay, payable at the time of your visit.
If you do not have a Medicare or a Medicare Advantage plan, I will provide the resources to assist you in pursuing reimbursement. Please read about Maine’s Right to Shop Law and how to seek reimbursement from your insurer.
Can I use my HealthCare Savings Account (HSA) or Flexible Spending Account (FSA) to pay for Physical Therapy? Absolutely! Whether or not you submit for reimbursement from your insurer, you can use your HSA or FSA to pay for services.